click to return to 
Liverpool Home & Contents

The City of Liverpool
in the County of
-- Lancashire --

click to return to Lancashire Home
Liverpool Waterfront

Liverpool came into being in 1207 when King John’s Charter formed the borough. Christianity was introduced around the 7th century and from then on numerous chapels where built in and around the area now known as Liverpool. Communities, villages and towns evolved around these religious sites. Places like Kirkby and Kirkdale, Prescot, Hale, West Derby, Childwall and Crosby etc.

The Church of St Mary Del Quay, situated on the banks of the River Mersey, existed in 1257 and remained as a Chapel until 1548. The structure was demolished in 1814, the land consecrated to become part of Our Lady and St Nicholas Liverpool. (Seen above to the left of the Liver Buildings)

The Church of St.Mary Walton was originally the parish church of Liverpool but Childwall can boast of having the oldest standing church. 1654 saw the first resolution about making Liverpool a parish separate from Walton. In 1699 Liverpool was made a distinct parish. Money was ordered to be raised towards building a new church to be dedicated to St Peter.

The districts in the lists on the following pages are those in which churches are known to have been located. In many cases these places have little relation to the titles of Registration Districts.

Between 1837 and 1934 the Reg. Dist of West Derby included all of the following:-

Everton, Fazakerley, Kirkdale, Netherfield, Toxteth Park (1837 – 1880) Walton, Wavertree and West Derby.

After 1880 Toxteth formed a registration district on its own but, from Sept 1922 it was included in the LIVERPOOL REG. DISTRICT.

Archives and Libraries

Liverpool Record Office,
City Libraries,
William Brown Street,
Merseyside, L3 8EW
Tel: 0151 233 5817
E-mail: Record Office

Liverpool Home & Contents ©Lancashire OnLine Parish Clerks

Lancashire Home