Historically, the Parish of Halsall consisted of the villages of Halsall, Barton, Haskayne, Downholland, Lydiate and Maghull and the hamlets of Shirdley Hill and Bangor’s Green.
The parish is about 9 miles long and 4 miles wide and runs roughly north to south, with the market town of Ormskirk 3 miles to the east and the Irish Sea 5 miles to the west. Halsall Moss, an area of very fertile farmland reclaimed by drainage, occupies much of the western part.
The name Halsall comes from the Doomsday word Heleshale meaning “rising ground near the edge of the great bog or mire” but by 1212, the village was already referred to as Halsale.
The Parish Church of St Cuthbert dates from 1250 but has been rebuilt and embellished in the intervening years. It is regarded, by many, as one of the finest churches in the area.
The population and its environment were very much influenced by the advances made in transport during the Industrial Revolution. At one time the parish could boast a turnpike road, a canal and two railways.